I thought I would test the new recipe embedding feature. I quite like it, although I’m not sure if it fits the theme that I’ve selected. It would be really good if WordPress introduced a recipe format (hint hint)! I wish I had a nice picture of this – I make this many times during the autumn when we have lots of mushrooms around.

Mushroom Risotto

  • Time: 1hr
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
Source: Risotto! Risotto! Valentina Harris, 1999

Ingredients

  • 200 g forest mushrooms
  • 1 large onion – chopped
  • 1-2 garlic cloves – crushed
  • 1 rosemary twig
  • 100 g salt-free butter
  • ~ 300 ml dry white wine
  • sea salt & fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 500 g risotto rice
  • 1.5 l chicken or vegetable stock – cooking on low heat
  • freshly grated Parmesan cheese to taste

Method

  1. Clean the mushrooms, brushing away as much forest debris as possible.
  2. Fry onion, garlic & rosemary together in 50 g butter until onions are soft. Use a large, heavy based saucepan for best results.
  3. Add the mushrooms and fry on medium heat until mushrooms are soft.
  4. Add the wine, turn heat to high and cook away the alcohol.
  5. Add the rice and mix until the rice is hot and shiny.
  6. Season with salt and pepper.
  7. Add ladle of warm stock, stirring continuously until the rice has absorbed the rice.
  8. Continue adding the stock in the same manner until all stock has been absorbed or the rice is cooked (fluffy, slightly al dente in the centre).
  9. Remove the saucepan from the heat and add in the remaining butter. Cover and leave the lid on for about 3 minutes.
  10. Transfer to pre-warmed serving platter.
  11. Serve with Parmesan cheese on the side.

NOTE: If the mushrooms are strongly flavoured, Parmesan is not so necessary.

If you enjoy risotto, I highly recommend that you get your hands on this book! As for the recipe embedded feature, safe to say you will see this on my Taswegian blog as well 😉  bon appétit!

